journal of a Neckbeard

neckbeard is now officially described by the Oxford Dictionary as:

neck|beard

Pronunciation: /ˈnɛkbɪəd/

NOUN

INFORMAL

 
1. A growth of hair on a man’s neck, especially when regarded as indicative of poor grooming:I can picture myself wearing these clothes a week from now, bits of food caught in my overgrown neckbeard
 
1.1 A man who is socially inept and physically unappealing, especially one who has an obsessive interest in computing:I know people expect me to be some sort of balding, overweight neckbearda course that will school you to code from the console like a true neckbeard

 

A neckbeard is a gender non-specific term, requiring neither a neck nor a beard, but stands as a symbol of achievements as a geek. Many neckbeards including myself do have growth of hair simply because it’s practical. It makes me look older and emphasizes, “hey, I may still live with my parents, … but I’m no kid!”.

neckbeard

Beards are a great place to store food. So if I get hungry during a long session of Babylon 5 or Halo 3, I can just snack away on chunks of potato chips still clinging to life on the hairs of my cheeks.

When I’m not playing RPG’s I usually make DevOps cards like these:

DevOps

My hobbies are:

  • writing obfuscated, ok-performing, “Object-Oriented” Perl 5 code with higher-order functions.
  • Also I recently discovered Scala. I think Scala makes me a better programmer because I can learn other languages while it compiles. Also I get to use all the symbols on my keyboard when programming. I also love it because it’s the only programming language where I can write anonymous function that looks kinda like a cat peeking around a corner: (_<o.O)

Ladies, if you share my interests and like what you just read, please comment below, I’m open for dates on secondlife!

This entry was posted in IT, programming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

