Stuck between Imposter Syndrome and Dunning Kruger effect

It was recently mentioned the Imposter Syndrome is common among Software Developers. The post proved very popular among redditors. As a satire writer who frequently wonders if my posts are funny enough I go through the cycle frequently:

  1. if my posts make it to the top and gets lots of traffic, I feel like I’m the best (Dunning Kruger)
  2. then a few negative comments (the internet is full of cruel people), and I suffer from an impostor syndrome,
  3. then I read the good comments and look at my “likes” and start to feel better about myself … then I fear I might experience the Dunning-Kruger effect,
  4. … so I go back to having impostor syndrome

imposter

Back in the 90ies we believed that everything was determined by genes … then we eventually found the gene that makes us believe everything is determined by our genes. So maybe there is also a syndrome that makes us believe any feeling we experience is due to a syndrome? An ultimate master of all syndromes could explain why we think everything is a syndrome!

Considering all the bad code I have seen in my life as a programmer, … what if we think we suffer from Imposter Syndrome, but in reality we’re really just shit?

day77

Comments below.

This entry was posted in musings, science and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuck between Imposter Syndrome and Dunning Kruger effect

  1. Pingback: Stuck between Imposter Syndrome and Dunning Kru...

Leave a Reply

